— Loudmouth at any baseball sport, ever
And finally, someone has. John Hirschbeck, one of many longest-tenured and most-revered umpires in Major League Baseball, made some of the unintentionally hilarious calls in the history of.. calls.. Tuesday evening at Angel Stadium.
In the seventh inning, slugger Yoenis Cespedes of the Oakland Athletics hit a grounder to second, where Los Angeles Angels infielder Howie Kendrick stepped on the bag and fired to first, making an attempt to show a double play. Hirschbeck began to sign “protected” — no, he did signal “protected” — but then, continuing the same movement, changed his mind and signaled out. It was the quickest self-reversal in umpiring lore.
Video replay showed Hirschbeck appeared to get the call right (the second/final time), which perhaps is why no one on the A’s went to argue.
First-base coach Tye Waller had an incredible response, turning to the dugout and smiling as if to say, “What was that?” And A’s supervisor Bob Melvin stood on the top step, on the verge of claiming one thing, however by no means actually committing. The A’s have been in a scoring drought, so perhaps it could have behooved Melvin to lift a stink, just to see what happened next. However contemplating that Hirschbeck is an umpire that many of the teams appear to love and respect, he gave him he benefit of the doubt. And, oh, there was doubt to spare.
The Angels received three-0, they usually beat the A’s again Wednesday afternoon 3-1. That nudges the Pink Sox nearer to dwelling-discipline benefit all through the playoffs. However the heck with that. What about Hirschbeck starting a new train craze with his isometric SafeOut stretch?
Massive BLS H/N: Field of Groups
Let’s speak pennant-race baseball!
Interact @bigleaguestew, @Townie813, @AnswerDave and @MikeOz on Twitter
and check out the BLS Fb Web page.
- Sports & Recreation
- John Hirschbeck
- Yoenis Cespedes
- Main League Baseball
- Oakland Athletics